SAINT GEORGE UTAH – OUR NEW HOME

 

Saint George is a town of 75,000 in the southwest corner of Utah on the edge of the Mojave Desert. It's 120 miles northeast of Las Vegas and will be our home for the next five months. The recent cold snap here is the big story but it's hard for me to get excited about it when the skies are blue, the sun is shining and it's 50 degrees by midday. Sure it dropped below freezing last night but I'm sleeping indoors, have heat, hot water and in the morning when I poke my head over the covers I can see the mountains – so no worries.

Sue and a hamster checking out the Sports Expo
 

 

Tomorrow we'll have to poke our heads out before the sun rises. Sue and I are volunteering for the Saint George 1/2 Marathon and need to be at the starting line by 7 am. It's been a while since we've had to wake up that early but we're excited to be involved with the event. Hopefully we'll be able to run a half marathon by the end of our time here but it feels good to volunteer also.

… I am writing this at a local Starbucks and out of the corner of my eye I can see people flying by thirty feet in the sky. Some are just seven or eight years old while others are thirty-something, the fathers and mothers. Some fly by stiffly with arms and legs drawn tightly to their bodies while others are flapping like birds and yelling, one just flew by upside down. It looks as bizarre as it sounds. In this typical plaza/strip mall an entrepreneur has suspended a zip line above the parking lot. What a great use of space. At either end of the zip line is a tower three to four stories high where the flying people start and end their journey. As a business venture it's brilliant; cheap rental space, no heating or cooling bills and the activity itself is it's own advertising campaign. Insurance may be their biggest expense. I don't know if they make much of a profit but I think it's a pretty cool business idea and great cure for writers block. I'm jazzed now.

 

 

Categories: Travel

Tags: , , ,

3 replies

  1. Glad you guys made it there, Brick – looks like a nice spot to hang out! Give our regards to Spud:) And watch out for those giant hamsters.

  2. This looks great! So happy that it seems to be as pleasant as it sounded.
    Also, tiny update on next fall:
    I’m looking more and more at taking the semester off to travel (which will have to be volunteering, interning, etc in large part) and I’m looking to work in south america for a few months. However, if I do end up going that route I would like to sneak in a few weeks of El Camino with you both, if that’s still on the agenda. May not be able to do the entire trek, but I may be able to do some of the early parts. Anyway, glad all is well in St. George, see if you can figure out a way to get some zip line action!

    • Hi Frenchfry,

      I love that name. You are always welcome to hike with us when ever it’s good for you. The way I think it’ll play out is we’ll start hiking early September and finish by the end of October. We’ll keep you in the loop. As for St. George, we like it more each day, especially Sue. Today we joined the aquatic center and got a few laps in. It’s a great facility and it’s easy to get a lane to yourself. Next I need to get serious about my training. It’s embarrassing to get passed by an old lady with blue hair.

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

