PRE-WORLD TRIP Wednesday Post #3

tumblr_lva1lw2gqg1qfvq9bo1_1280

Weeks seem to go by more quickly when you have a deadline to meet and today is Pre-World Trip Wednesday so I need to post an update. El Camino hike dates have come into clearer focus since last Wednesday’s post. We want to avoid the heat and crowds of summer so we tentatively plan starting our hike from the French side of the Pyrenees in St. Jean-Pied-De-Port or Somport in early September and ending at the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela in the town of Galacia in northwest Spain by the end of October.

There are many route options and starting points for El Camino

There are many route options and starting points for El Camino

Concluding the hike by the end of October gives us a chance to catch a repositioning cruise from Lisbon Portugal to Galveston Texas or from Barcelona Spain to New Orleans Louisiana or Miami or Fort Lauderdale Florida. Each cruise takes 13 to 14 days and costs about $50 USD per person per day for a couple. Gratuities would add another $10 USD per person a day. During that passage about 10 days would be spent underway, no port visits. Those are the cheapest cabins. For a few hundred dollars more you could get a balcony and with spending 10 days at sea it might be worth the upgrade but then again we are crossing the Atlantic in November so it’s not like we’ll be sun bathing on the balcony. Perhaps the best compromise is a cabin with a window for a couple hundred dollars extra, especially if we go all the way to Galveston. The last week of the cruise could be spent sailing through warm, pleasant waters bar hurricanes.

This is the pack I carried on the Appalachian Trail. The one I carry on El Camino should be much lighter and smaller since I won’t need a tent, multiple days of food, etc.

So now we know we’ll be heading back in November. Next is figuring out when I am going to leave for Europe. The best flights I’ve found so far are from Las Vegas to London’s Heathrow airport for about $660 USD one way. That’s more than I hoped for so I am going to keep looking. The other big question is how to spend the 3 months in Europe by myself. (Sue has other plans for the summer.) I’ve thought about doing some bike touring but I don’t feel like shipping my bike since my main purpose will be backpacking. However I could see buying a used, old school bike and wandering around for a month or two then reselling it before the hike starts. Another idea is picking just a few towns to hang out in that give me a view of the Tour de France and other summer bike races. The point being to spend days or even weeks in a town instead of traveling every day. If anyone knows of a small, cheap town in Spain, Italy or France that would be neat to hang out in leave a reply.

But I will be packing a journal

Lastly if anyone knows of a skipper sailing from the States to Europe in June that needs an easy going deckhand with medical experience, who can cook well enough to survive, has yet to get seasick despite having been on a couple of bumpy passages and enjoys listening to sea stories (true or fabricated) drop me a line.

The first 500 miles of the hike
The people you meet hiking, biking, and traveling are the best part of the trip

Since I don’t have any pictures of hiking in France, Spain or Italy I gave you some pictures of hiking the AppalachianTrail in America.

Categories: Biking, Hiking, Travel

Tags: , , , , , , ,

12 replies

  1. Looks like an awesome route. Hope I have the time and still have the resources to do something like this one day. Look forward to seeing pictures and reading the stories when this one comes together.

  2. Sounds like this will be a great trip! Definitely keep a journal so you can update readers — thanks for sharing and thanks for stopping by Travel Oops and liking the wildlife photos! Cheers, Steph

    • Thanks for the encouragement and I look forward to reading more about your adventures and mishaps. I am sure I will relive some of those mishaps myself but they do help etch a moment in the old memory banks.

      • Definitely the mishaps are the memorable ones. Looking forward to following your adventures as well. Thanks for the follow, Brick — Happy Trails! Cheers, Steph

  3. I’ve recently become very interested in hiking El Camino de Santiago, so I’ll be interested in following your trek! You guys are living such a fascinating life. Very inspiring.

    • You too. Keep writing. “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

  4. I nominated you for the Inspiring Blogger Award. You can check it out here.
    http://niasimoneauthor.com/2013/01/28/7-things-about-me-blogger-award-received/

    This was the first time I received one and it does involve some work. Feel free to use it or just accept the hug.

    Best,

    Nia

  5. This trip looks like fun. I look forward to reading your stories about it.

  6. I don’t know if you will remember me but I’m Michelle, Art and Elizabeth’s daughter. My dad turned me onto your blog and I have been enjoying it very much. It’s fabulous reading about your adventures. I have a possible suggestion for you for a small town to check out in Spain. My partner, Audrey and I stayed there for about a month over the holidays during our bike tour. The town is called Isla Plana on the south coast of Spain and the campground we stayed at is called Camping Los Madriles. It was a different time of year, though, so I don’t know what it will be like in the summer time. It was a really sweet small town and we enjoyed our time there.

    • Hi Michelle,

      It’s great to hear from you! I can’t think of a better source for advice on touring Europe by bike. The town sounds like the kind of place I’m looking for. I can’t wait to find it on the map. Oh, maybe I should google these days. Thanks for writing and following. Any other tips you can send my way I’d appreciate. Take care and say hi to Audrey for me.

Leave a Reply

