COPS San Juan Puerto Rico

Entrance to Old San Juan Puerto Rico at the red gate

 

Despite some of the esthetic short comings I mentioned in my last post associated with our San Juan hostel I still prefer staying in hostels over hotels, especially if I am traveling alone. Hostels tend to attract both workers and lodgers that are friendly, adventurous and well traveled. The hostel environment also encourages more interaction between travelers than a hotel does and the experience is far less predictable as I was about to learn again.

 

Looking out from Castillo San Cristobal upon San Juan PR and the Atlantic Ocean

Another view of Castillo San Cristobal, the largest fortress in PR

 

It was early morning and the voice coming from the bull horn was loud, confident and emphatic. Despite having recently spent two months in Spain I did not understand a single sentence of the Puerto Rican Spanish I was hearing. Considering our neighborhood and the fact that they kept repeating the same phrases, my best guess was the police were saying, “Come out with your hands up”. It was like being in an episode of “COPS”. I wasn’t too worried, I was pretty sure they weren’t talking to me but the room had no windows so to get a peek at the action you had to open the door. Of course opening the door could give the bad boys access to our room or we could get caught in the cross fire. So I just sat there with the “COPS” theme song playing over and over again in my head and every few minutes like a patient with Tourette's I would uncontrollably blurt out, “Bad boys. Bad boys. What you going to do? What you going to do when they come for you? Bad boys. Bad Boys.”

 

Finally the bull horn fell silent and all was quiet outside. I slowly opened the door but there was nothing to see. Cautiously Sue and I made our way to the managers office and as usual Corey, the manager, was upbeat and smiling. After some small talk about things to do downtown and where to catch the city bus I asked, “What was the bull horn all about?” He chuckled, “That was Pedro. He has great prices on fruits and vegetables and the cheapest bananas you'll find on the island.” Trying to contain his laughter he said, “An American girl thought it was the police” and then burst out laughing. “Really?” I laughed. Sue looked at me with a devilish smile and knowing eyes but kindly maintained her silence and my dignity.

 

 

Categories: Hiking, Travel

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. Hi Tom and Sue,

    I really enjoyed your post regarding the “Cops”it made me laugh and I too would of thought it was a cop. Where are you planning on going next after Puerto Rico?

    From: brickthomas’s Blog Reply-To: brickthomas’s Blog Date: Sunday, December 1, 2013 6:59 PM To: Lisa Hann Subject: [New post] COPS San Juan Puerto Rico

    WordPress.com brickthomas posted: ” Despite some of the esthetic short comings I mentioned in my last post associated with our San Juan hostel I still prefer staying in hostels over hotels, especially if I am traveling alone. Hostels tend to attract both workers and lodgers that a”

    • Hi Lisa,

      It was a funny situation. We head to VA for a week or two then to Albany NY for Christmas with Sue’s folks. After that we drive to St. George UT for the winter. It will be fun to be in one place for a few months. How’s school going? We wish you both as well as the rest of your family a very Merry Christmas. Thanks for keeping in touch.

      Tom & Sue

      Sent from my iPad

  2. You made me laugh, Brick, thanks. Traveling in a world with a different language is tricky….

Leave a Reply

