The Desert, Not What I Expected

Toe Trail, Ivins Utah

Toe Trail, Ivins Utah

My image of “the desert” as a child growing up in Indiana was of a monochromatic, endless sea of sand littered with broken wagon wheels and sun bleached cow skulls. Looking in the distance you would see the air shimmering in the lethal heat and with each dry breath your throat would draw tighter.

51630004

Bear Claw – Poppy Trails, Saint George Utah

 

But standing here in the southwest corner of Utah where three deserts collide that is not what I see in front of me and my throat feels fine. The desert I’m looking at is not monochromatic; it is a continuum of color like those large boxes of crayons with the sharpener in back. There is plenty of tan but there is also lots of pink, red, orange and green. The highest peaks are grayish-white with some capped in black basalt, a calling card left behind by the volcanoes that once filled the valley with lava. That brings up the other surprise; there are mountains in the desert. Some are flat topped mesas while others are large, pointed solitary peaks but the cutest are a ridge of small, jagged peaks my wife calls, “the baby teeth”.

DSCF0727

One thing that is consistent with my childhood image of a desert is the presence of cacti. In southwest Utah most of the cacti you see are Barrel, Hedgehog and Prickly Pear not the large Saguaro that looks like a man standing with his arms raised. But what I didn’t expect are the beautiful buds and flowers that cover these cacti each spring. Their blossoms vary from light pink to purple and their translucent petals have the texture of crepe paper. They look oddly gentle compared to the thick-skinned, thorny plants they spring from.

 

Image 3

Of course there are snakes, scorpions, tarantulas and lizards along with the endangered leathery-necked desert tortoise. Until recently I had never seen a scorpion in the wild. I made my first sighting while on a scorpion walk at Snow Canyon State Park. If you want to see scorpions in the wild it’s best to go out after dark as they are nocturnal. The other trick is to bring a black light. It turns out that their exoskeletons glow a florescent yellow under the black light. We found our scorpions hidden under scrubs just a few inches from the trail.

 

Snow Canyon State Park, Ivins Utah

Snow Canyon State Park, Ivins Utah

Oh yeah there is sand out here in the desert but it’s not the large drifting dunes I pictured as a kid. In fact most of the sand isn’t even tan, it’s more pinkish-red and rests in thin layers upon the firm sandstone that predominates in this region. No, this is not the bland western desert I envisioned as a child. This desert is full of color, life and beauty in the spring and surrounded by snow-capped peaks in the winter. But it is dry and can get very hot in July and August so bring plenty of water to avoid ending up like one of those cows.

Image 4

 

Categories: Hiking, Travel

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

10 replies

  1. This was really neat! I spent time in El Paso, Texas and this reminded me of the beauty of the desert. I really enjoyed the description and various components that you were able to capture. Great post!

  2. Hi I Tom, Your early image of the desert is like mine , It is great that the real thing is so much more beautiful . The pictures are surprising. Thanks to you and Sue . L.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. Yes, for those of us raised in the Midwest, the desert can require quite an adjustment. Still, as you remind me, the small prickly pear became one of my favorite flowers, a spring event I still miss.
    On the blogging front, once in awhile I yield to another temptation, and one consequence is that I’ve nominated you for a Butterfly Lighting Award. The details will be in a posting tomorrow (Wednesday) at Jnana’s Red Barn, where I’ll link to you regardless of your decision to follow through. Thanks for doing what you are online, and my best regards for your presentations ahead. In the meantime, take a bow in the spotlight.

  4. I think we have all grown up to think of the desert as a hostile environment. Your story helps dispel some of that notion, and your photos add a lot to the concept of ‘The Painted Desert’. You have certainly visited a wide range of habitats in your travels. – Mike

  5. beautiful thread 🙂 I went in the desert in Egypt some months ago and i’ve totally loved it. I think that this is a totally diferent horizon , compared with the one with classic sand dunes all around you , amazing but with a very low percentual of living things , no plants or animals around for the most of the time. . I really would like to visit this place and this kind of desert someday,i love the orange colour of the sand and the special landscape 🙂 !! And… I love western movies and Morricone,I think that when I will be able to visit this amazing place I will feel like in an old style western movie 😀
    beautiful pictures. 😉

    • Thanks Jessica. Deserts are amazing parts of the world. Here in Utah the colors are amazing and you do feel like a cowboy hiking around the rocks and cactus. I hope you get a chance to see the colors for yourself. Thanks for looking and commenting.

Leave a Reply

