Women’s March – Bellingham,WA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Reviewing chants before the start of the march. Woman’s March, Bellingham, Washington. January 21, 2017

I have no interest in making this blog political but for a change of pace I’m posting some photographs I took at the Bellingham, Washington ‘Woman’s March’. Women of all ages were represented, a few that could not walk used wheelchairs and I saw one on a mobility scooters. The local newspaper reported a few thousand marched. Based on the signs they carried the theme stretched far beyond women’s health issues. A few Trump supporters added an alternative view and waved their flag vigorously as the marchers passed by, but both sides were civil and relaxed. Since the election there have been a number of Anti-Trump marches. A few have turned into riots where police were attacked and injured and property and vehicles were destroyed. In contrast the Bellingham Woman’s March had a casual feel with lots of laughing, waving and selfies. Despite the cordial atmosphere I suspect President Trump has not heard the last from these women.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Superwoman and her backup. Woman’s March, Bellingham, Washington. January 21, 2017

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The president’s tiny hands seem to be an issue that won’t go away. Woman’s March, Bellingham, Washington. January 21, 2017

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Determination is a powerful force. Woman’s March, Bellingham, Washington. January 21, 2017

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

An honorable quality for any community. Woman’s March, Bellingham, Washington. January 21, 2017

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Everyone dressed up for the occasion. Woman’s March, Bellingham, Washington. January 21, 2017

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Woman’s March, Bellingham, Washington. January 21, 2017

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There were plenty of men too. Woman’s March, Bellingham, Washington. January 21, 2017

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am trying to be objective here but I laugh every time I see that image. Woman’s March, Bellingham, Washington. January 21, 2017

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A Trump supporter wearing a shirt that says ‘Repent’ waves his flag with enthusiasm as the marchers go by. Woman’s March, Bellingham, Washington. January 21, 2017

 

Categories: Washington, Writing

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

22 replies

  1. Brick. There were no riots or violence at the Portland Women’s March. There was rioting on Inauguration Day on Friday but yesterday was peaceful and wonderful here in PDX

    • That is great! I’m sorry for the vague sentence. I was referring to the Anit-Trump riots that have broken out since the election in November, not specifically the Woman’s March. Thanks for the help. 🙂

  2. It is not just women (and men) in the USA who are protesting. We’ve fought long and hard for our rights and we will not let any misogynist, racist, bigot take them away.

    • I think that is true and that is what we are witnessing. It also appears people in many countries have reached their limit and are rallying against their politicians and governments. It feels a little like the 60’s. I just hope we can move forward with minimal destruction and violence.

      • Although I’m not old enough to remember, what we are seeing in Europe and other parts of the world is reminiscent of the rise of fascism. We have to stand firm, say “not on my watch” and hope that democracy will prevail.

  3. Thanks for the Bellingham photos Tom, love the dogs with their matching blue and pink coats. So pleased it was a peaceful protest, lots of knitting must have taken place with all those ‘pussy cat’ hats! I was reading about them in today’s Sunday Telegraph. Interesting times ahead for you all as with us with Brexit!! Best Wishes, M.

    • It was a beautiful day in many ways and the local knitters have been busy. I love seeing the broad age range in both the knitters and protesters. This is an interesting time for us in both countries isn’t it?

  4. The Women’s March was a powerful statement for sanity, Brick. I, like you, have no intention of turning my blog into an ongoing commentary on politics, but what is happening now is far too important to ignore. Thank you. –Curt

  5. An interesting look from a personal perspective at the marches rather than the generic photos I’d seen in the news.. Like you, I try to keep my blog relatively politically neutral (or at least mild in its references!) but this last year has seen many changes across the world that it’s becoming harder and harder not to comment on…thanks for sharing.

  6. Thanks for sharing the photos. They are very well done. I guess those of us with non-political intentions on our blog, will have to find a way to artfully skirt these issues.

  7. The two Trump supporters you mentioned were by far not friendly. They were bullying protestors, and doing their best to incite violence at the rally before the march (I have video) and there is also video of them waving their Trump flag while yelling “heil Hitler” at protestors during the march. These men were in no way there to simply show a difference of opinion.

    • Hi, Susan. Thanks for your comment. Ironically earlier today, before I read your email, I changed that caption because I thought it was more important to describe what was partially visible on the man’s T-shirt.

      Nonetheless I did not see any violence or inciting of violence during the ‘Women’s March’. As for the christian guys with the Trump flag, I photographed them for 20-30 minutes but have seen them standing on Bellingham corners with religious signs for years. I don’t share their world view but have photographed them countless times over the years. Most weekends they’re on one corner and an LGBT group is on the opposite corner and sometimes they even share the same corner. I have never seen either group get hostile and both have answered my questions in a civil manner.

      What I saw during the march was one guy waving his Trump flag while a bunch of marchers walked by waving their anti-Trump signs. Both groups were equally zealous in their behavior. If you wanted to nitpick you could argue the women’s signs had more inflammatory and foul language, especially in regards to children’s eyes. But we’re mature adults and can deal with that.

      While photographing I heard one marcher yell “Fuck You” to the flag holder and one of the christian guys yelled “Heil Hitler” twice. But to be honest his “Heil Hitler” was halfhearted and punctuated by a giggle. No more threatening or inciting than the “Fuck You” shouted by the marcher.

      What I saw and heard were Americans exercising their freedom of speech. Neither man’s expression of speech moved the other to violence so by definition violence was not incited. Others would argue I witnessed Democracy in action.

      But like I said this is not a political blog. This is a blog where I share my photographs and personal experiences. If you’re interested in photography, hiking, biking and travel you may enjoy this blog. Welcome.

  8. Whoa Brick, very brave of you! I like the images and your delicate dance.

    • Hi, MJF. Thanks, it was fun to shoot. Ah the dance. With all the nationalism, extreme political correctness and polarized rhetoric, sometimes it comes across as if freedom of speech belongs to only one view, people or party, but we know that’s false. It’s a constitutional right of all Americans. However, making a statement based on “alternative facts” for personal gain is not freedom of speech. That’s called being dishonest or lying. 🙂

  9. I found this series of photos very poignant, Tom; thanks so much for sharing the March. I really liked your photo comments, too. Everyone “dressed up,” you captured the many different signs and messages, warm and mellow faces, and a true sense of community here. A lovely and much appreciated post.

  10. I think it’s great that women let their voice be heard. And of course it’s great when there are no riots or violence. You photo makes for an excellent photo story about the march.

    • Thank you, Otto. The march was a fine expression of the peoples thoughts and concerns. The way things are going in America I suspect I will have many more opportunities to photograph marches and work on my photo essay skills. Peace

Leave a Reply

