Pre-World Trip Wednesday – Gear List

It's time to put down the books, step away from the recliner and let the adventure begin.

It’s time to put down the books, step away from the recliner and let the adventure begin.

Two days from now I’ll shoulder my pack, worry about what tasks I should have done but didn’t, kiss my wife goodbye, feel sad about my departure but excited about my arrival, then launch into the blue skies over Las Vegas Nevada. I guess it’s time to take a look at my pack and the gear I am filling it with.

Despite having bicycled and backpacked thousands of miles through the US and Canada I am always amazed at how novice I feel every time I start packing for another trip. Each trip seems to have its own unique issues, i.e. elevation, weather, shelter, communications… so that what I packed previously is never exactly right for the next trip. A part of me wishes I had just one magical pack for all purposes which I would mindlessly grab on my way out the door but the gram counter in me can’t roll with that. I like going fairly light and the thought of carrying anything I don’t absolutely need I find intolerable. But despite my best efforts, a few miles down the trail I always find a few of those “intolerable things” have found  their way into my pack. Oh well, maybe I’ll get it right next time.

 

Pack and day bag that can hold iPad mini and DSLR

Pack and day bag that can hold iPad mini and DSLR

For backpacking the mountains of the Eastern US between March and November I used a 46 liter Osprey pack. That pack size allowed me to carry a tent, sleeping bag, etc. plus 6 days of food. The fully loaded pack weight ran between about 20 and 30 lbs. For this six month trip, since I don’t need to carry a tent, sleeping bag, water purifier… or more than a days worth of food I have chosen a 22 liter Osprey pack which compared to most posts I have read related to hiking the Camino and Hosteling in Europe appears to be on the small side but it seems adequate for the amount of gear I am carrying. Here is my “nearly” final gear list .

 

 

 

 

                         Equipment for six month European Hosteling trip and hiking the Frances Camino

 

Most of the clothing

Most of the clothing

Button Shirts – #2 collared button shirts, one short sleeved and one long sleeved with large, secure front pockets
T-Shirts – #1 – UnderArmour – grey, presentable with or without an over shirt
Long Sleeved 1/4 length zip T-shirt – Eastern Mt Sports – my cold weather piece for Iceland and northern Europe
Wind Shirt – Golite – amazingly warm for the weight
Pants/Belt – NorthFace – lightweight with zippered pockets, Hopefully I don’t look like a break dancer from the eighties with all the zippers
Shorts – LLBean – light weight, quick drying, zippered pockets
Swim Gear – Speedos, Silicone ear plugs, Goggles – I hope to swim or at least soak my way through Europe
Undershorts – UnderArmour #2 – I’ve used these for three years including hiking the AT and they’re still in good shape
Socks – #3 pair – REI – a combination of lightweight ones with a thicker wool pair
Shoes – Merrell Moab Ventilators (low cut) – I have had great luck with these, on my third pair
Rain Jacket – Red Ledge – New but looks like a decent, reasonably priced breathable rain jacket
Bandanna – #2 – I have used these as towels and everything else over the years
Tilley Hat – Ok, it’s a little big and touristy but it provides great sun protection
Sleepwear – running shorts -may not be absolutely necessary but probably appreciated by others in the bunk room
Bag Liner – Sea to Summit Thermoreactor – surprisingly warm and durable for the weight, feels great against the skin
Waterproof Stuff Sack

Wind shirt, rain jacket, bag liner...

Wind shirt, rain jacket, bag liner…

Money Belt
Cash – USD
Debit Card & Credit Card
Passport & Copies
Plane Tickets
Drivers License
Hostel Card
Insurance – Travel, Health, Auto

Guidebooks – dissected into applicable pieces,
Apps – currency exchg, phrase book, Rick Steves Audio Europe
Maps – Rick Steves Europe planning map (a simple overview of Europe)
Writing – Writing Journal, Calendar/notebook, Pen, Pencil,

That's a lot of geek gear.

That’s a lot of geek gear.

Electronics
Olympus e-420 with rubber Body Armor Case, Legacy OM 50 Lens w/adapter, Lens Case,
Polarizer Filter, Spare Battery, Charger, Transfer Cable
iPod Touch, Ear Buds (The Touch camera will be used for wider angle photos. The OM with the adapter changes it’s focal length to more of a portrait lens. I prefer the OM’s crisp images and manual focus over my digital pancake lens despite its extra weight and bulk.)
iPad Mini with Belkin case with built-in keyboard, Charging Cables
Plug Adapter – Europe
Sony Audio recorder, case
Headlamp
Waterproof Stuff Sack

Toiletries
First Aid Kit – Neosporin, Hydrocortisone 1%, Advil, Tylenol, ASA, Pepto, Doxycycline, Septra DS, Prednisone, Clarinex, Plasters, Safety Pin, Foam Ear plugs
Contact Lenses, Saline, Case, Reading Glasses, copies of Rx’s, Sunglasses, Cleaning Cloth
1/2 Bar Soap, Comb, Razor, Toothbrush, Paste, Nail Clippers, Tweezers, #5 Paper Towels
Stuff sack

Misc. – Clothesline, Sewing Kit, Duct Tape, Pad Lock, Luggage Lock, Carabiners, Ziplock Bags, Spoon, Fork,

Packs – Osprey Talon 22L, Shoulder Bag – Rick Steves iPad Shoulder bag

To Buy in Europe
Pocket knife, cork screw,

Well that’s the gear list and the last installment of Pre-World Trip Wednesday. Now it’s time to put down the books, step away from the recliner and let the adventure begin. If history repeats itself, once I’m on the road I will have a heightened level of energy, curiosity and a slight change in personality. The more extraverted, observant and tolerant Brick Thomas will emerge and with it hopefully a few good stories will be discovered and shared. Of course it’s a process and not an immediate change that occurs. I’ll be a little sad and bewildered at first due to the separation from my sweetheart and not knowing a soul or the language “there” but in time the other and in some ways better Brick Thomas will emerge and find his stride. I’m sure he’ll let you know how it goes, just click follow.

Categories: Hiking, Travel

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

17 replies

  1. Best of luck, Brick. I’m looking forward to hearing about your travels.
    Lisa

    • Thanks Lisa. https://brickthomasblog.wordpress.com

      “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

    • Thanks Lisa. If I’m lucky I’ll capture a couple pictures along the way that give a true feeling of the people and place. It should be a fun challenge. Incidentally I think you capture that in your photography.

      Brick “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

  2. Some thoughts:
    . mosquito net
    . LED torch. The new torches are amazing.
    . max 1 book – they are too heavy, too much volume. I now put all guide books on my (android) phone. Galaxy Nexus has a large enough screen to make reading both guidebooks and books ok.
    . Water: I take an insertion boiler, silver chloride tablets and in some places a Lifesaver bottle. I also take 1L and 750ml containers for water. The 1L can have water boiled in it.
    best of luck.

    • Thanks for the ideas. I do need to improve my guide books system.

      tom

      “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

  3. Wishing you safe travels to Europe!

    Love, Lisa and Jason Hann

    From: brickthomas’s Blog Reply-To: brickthomas’s Blog Date: Sunday, May 26, 2013 12:38 PM To: Lisa Hann Subject: [New post] Pre-World Trip Wednesday Gear List

    WordPress.com brickthomas posted: ” Two days from now I’ll shoulder my pack, worry about what tasks I should have done but didn’t, kiss my wife goodbye, feel sad about my departure but excited about my arrival, then launch into the blue skies over Las Vegas Nevada. I guess it’s time to “

  4. Happy to respond to your blog. Interesting to know where and how you both are and especially, the thrill of your travel plans. FYI, doing well here. Being nearly 70 is full of surprises. Gratefully, feeling better than I did 20 years ago. Travel is a passion unexplainable and yet compelling beyond compare. Blog on….

  5. Can’t wait to hear all your tales from “there”! Be safe but have fun and enjoy the adventure.
    ~~Flame and Pyro

  6. Best wishes for a safe and stimulating journey. We look forward to hearing about your adventures. Happy Trails!

    • Hi Susan,

      Thanks. I’ll take all the well wishes and luck I can get. Have a great summer and Sue should be back in Tidewater in about 10 days. Hope you guys can hook up. Tell the skipper hi for me and I hope he has a fulfilling racing season.

      tom https://brickthomasblog.wordpress.com

      “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

  7. woah! this trip is materializing so soon! is sue joining you for the camino at all? best of luck and safe travels!

  8. I know you will have a great adventure, especially when your two sides meet. Thx for sharing your prep.

Leave a Reply

